Name: Dr. Prakash P. Wadgaonkar

            Emeritus Scientist, CSIR-NCL, Pune.


  • M.Sc. in Organic Chemistry, Shivaji University, Kolhapur, India (1979). 
  • Ph.D. in Studies in (I)Telechelic Diene Polymers (II) Silicon-Containing Polyimides under Supervisor of Dr. Ghatge, N.D. (1985) at CSIR- National Chemical Laboratory, Pune, India.
  • Postdoctoral Research: Department of Chemistry, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN, USA (1988-1990). 


 (Honours / Awards / Distinction / Prizes Received/ Consultancy Assignments)


Jeevan-Gaurav Purskar - (Life Time Achievement Award) 2017, Solapur University, Solapur


NCL Research Foundation ‘Scientist-of-the-Year Award (2013-2014)’


Member, Editorial Board, Green Materials, ICE Publishing, UK.


Member, Editorial Board, Materials Technology: Advanced Performance Materials,Taylor & Francis, UK.


Member, Editorial Board, Journal of Polymeric Materials (MD Publications Pvt. Ltd. New Dehli)


Fellow, Maharashtra Academy of Sciences (2008)


Prof. M. Santappa Silver Jubilee Award in Polymer Science for the Year 2006 by the Society For Polymer Science (SPS), India.


Prof. Sukumar Maiti Polymer Award Foundation, 2004.


CSIR Technology Award 2003 for THPE Process: Team Member.


Dunlop Award for the best research in the area of Rubber Chemistry and Technology, instituted by M/s Indian Rubber Manufacturers’ Research Association (IRMRA), Mumbai, 1984.


Awarded “Excellent Rating” for Joint Collaborative Project entitled “Novel Hydrophobically Modified Polymers: Synthesis, Characterization and Rheology” (IFCPAR Project No. 2508 – 1, Project Period August 01, 2001 – January 31, 2005).


Junior Research Fellowship (JRF) of CSIR, New Delhi, 1980


First Rank in M.Sc. Examination of Shivaji University, Kolhapur, 1979


Foreign Deputations and bridge assignments:


  • Visited General Electric Co., Niskayuna (NY) and Mt. Vernon.
  • Indiana, USA., for discussions on collaborative research programmes – June 1998 and August 1999.


  • Visited General Electric Co., BoZ, The Netherlands, for discussions on collaborative research programmes – March 2004.





  • Visited Solvay Solexis, Italy for discussions on collaborative research programmes – May 10-May 26, 2008.
  • Visited IAM, Institut Charles Gerhardt, Montpellier, France- October 8, 2012 for discussion.
  • Delivered an invited talk at PET DAY 2012 (Artimino, Florence, Italy), organized by G.S.I. - Global Service International on October 11, 2012.


Member, Technical Committee, Maharashtra Pollution Control Board (MPCB)


Member of the Senate, Yashwantrao Chavan Maharashtra Open University, Nashik (2015-2017)


Member of Committee of Peers, Rajiv Gandhi Science and Technology Commission (RGSTC, Shivaji University, Kolhapur) (2015-2017)


Member, Laboratory Research Council (LRC), HEMRL, Pune (2015-2018)


Member of the Senate, Solapur University, Solapur (2010-2014)


Member, Board of Studies in Chemistry / Polymer Science of the following Universities


a. Shivaji University, Kolhapur, Maharashtra (2001 – 2006)


b. Swami Ramanand Teerth Marathwada University, Nanded, Maharashtra
    (2001 – 2006)


c. Sri Krishnadevaraya University, Anantapur, Andhra Pradesh (2003-2006)


d. North Maharashtra University, Jalgaon, Maharashtra (2004-2007)


e.   Solapur University, Solapur, Maharashtra (2006-2009, 2011-2015)


f. Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Marathwada University, Aurangabad,   
     Maharashtra (2006-2009)


g. Savitribai Phule University of Pune, Pune (2008-2011, 2012-2016, 2019- 2022)


h. University of Mysore, Mysore (2012-2015)


i. Sanjay Ghodawat University, Kolhapur (2017)



Membership of Committees at Universities / Colleges:


a.       Member, Intellectual Property Rights Committee, Shivaji University, Kolhapur (2014)

b.   Member, Advisory Committee, Centre of Excllence in Polymers, The Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda, Vadodara (2013)

c.    Member, Governing Body of Vishwakarma College of Arts, Commerce and Science, Pune (2013-2016)

d.      Member, Research Advisory Committee, Walchand College, Solapur (2013-2016)

e.       Member, Advisory Board, Suyash Gurukul, Solapur

f.       Member, Advisory Committee, Horizon Discovery Academy, Nanded

g.      Member of Committee of Peers, Rajiv Gandhi Science and Technology Commission (RGSTC, Shivaji University, Kolhapur) (2015-2017)

h.      Member, ACRHEM-Progress Monitoring Committee, Advanced Centre of Research in High Energy Materials (ACRTTEM), DRDO Centre of Excellence, University of Hyderabad

i.        An Advisory Committee Member for the Research Advisory Committee at Sanjay Ghodawat University, Kolhapur


Recognized Guide for Ph.D. in Chemistry of AcSIR - Academy of Scientific & Innovative Research New Delhi, Savitribai Phule Pune University, Pune, and Shivaji University, Kolhapur


Ph.D. Theses Supervised: 20,  Ph.D. Students currently working: 04


Consultancy Assignments


a.    John F. Welch Technology Centre (General Electric Company, USA), Bangalore (2004-2005)

b.      M/s ABR Organics Limited, Hyderabad (2006-2007,2007-2008)

c.       M/s Hemani Intermediates, Limited, Vapi, Gujarath (2007-2008)

d.      Dr. Reddy’s Laboratories, Hyderabad (2007-2008)

e.       M/s Galaxy Surfactants, Mumbai (2009-2010)

f.       M/s Deepak Novochem, Pune (2012-2013)

g.      TraspekSilox, Baroda (2013)

h.      Deepak Nitrite, Baroda (2015-2016)

i.        Starchem, Ludhiana (2016)

j.        H & R Johnson (India), A Division of Prism Cement Ltd. Mumbai (2016)

k.      AltReal Bio-Innovations Pvt. Ltd. Pune (2017)